COAPPARATION

Virtual Arbeitszimmer Calendar Contact Instagram Deutsch

Alexandra Tatar

Born in 1989 in Romania. Since 2011 lives and works in Vienna

studied with Francis Ruyter, Daniel Richter and Ashley Hans Scheirl at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna and painting at the University of Art and Design Cluj Napoca, Romania. Currently she is a doctoral candidate at the Academy of Fine Arts Vienna, researching on the topic of post-soviet subjectivities. In her work, she deals with processes of becoming, expending onto objects and other non-human beings, seen as an extended geography of subjectivity. She is also interested in the landscape of ‘problematic subjectivities’, those forms of individuation where the complicity with a hegemonial regime can be questioned.

Her work has been exhibited at FLUCA - Austrian Cultural Pavilion Plovdiv, Bulgaria (2019), RAUMSCHIFF Linz (2019), VBKÖ Vienna (2018) and at the Vienna Art Week (2018), amongst others. She is recipient of the Red Carpet Tribute Award in 2017 and the Art Start Scholarship from the Academy of Fine Arts in 2018. Besides her artistic practice, Alexandra also curated a number of exhibitions to date, with the most recent ones “cooking the city - artists as contingency architects” at Traktorfabrik (2018), and “#viennaintransylvania” in the frame of Cluj Napoca Europeean Youth Cutural Capital (2015).

www.alexandratatar.at

Projekt

Postponed to 2021
Due to the current developments of the pandemic and the corresponding corona rules from 1.11.2020, Alexandra Tatar's stay in the Thealit study (living in Vienna) will unfortunately not be possible. We will present her project in a suitable form at thealit next year.

For the residency I will start working on the topic of Coapparition*, by recuperating a family history of ‘temporary’ migration to Germany. My grandfather was a ‘guest worker’ in FRG (West Germany) at the end of the 70s, mediated to a German company, by the communist Romanian state enterprise, where he was employed. He was a welder, and in FRG he mainly worked at expanding the gas pipeline infrastructure. His personal history was of course made possible by the west Germany’s Ostpolitik ambitions, matching with those of the Romanian government at that time, and the resulting economic treaty between the two countries.

notes and drawings from my notebook
notes and drawings from my notebook

In my recent practice, I have a focus analyzing systems and interdependencies in the geographical space we call Central and Eastern Europe and the inter-imperial relations that have historically shaped these spaces. The working project at Thealit is part of this body of work.

A portrait of a socialist good working man, and his adventures in the west. The specific social class infrastructure of migration: passport was taken upon arrival! Freedom was experienced elsewhere. The body. His stories of glory, and the things that were left unsaid. The cracks in the footage. macroscale <> microscale levels: the informal carpet commerce that my grandfather made being as important. Economy of cold war dynamics. Humor as surviving mechanism, but an underlying sadness becomes stringent. Landscapes. Buried in landscape. A minor history. Marginal. The company I requested if they still have his welder permit don’t keep the files from the 70s anymore. Memory: why does he remember exactly each detail of those 3 years and 3 months, but has to look into his notebook for the birthdates of his two children?

I will use the Arbeitszimmer at Thealit as a metaphorically welding workshop, thinking of *Coapparition from the perspective of migration. I will put together the video footage I have. I will revisit the spaces he has been to and weld my experience of them onto the footage. I will think of the migrant workers experience from the pandemic. I will research and write. If I find ‘found’ materials on my road trips, I will probably weld them together sculpturally. I will open the room for discussions and present the result of my work as it goes.

COAPPARATION

Kalender Kontakt Instagram Englisch

Alexandra Tatar

1989 in Rumänien geboren. Seit 2011 arbeitet und lebt sie als Künstlerin in Wien.

Sie studierte bei Ashley Scheirl, Daniel Richter und Francis Ruyter an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien, sowie an der Universität für Kunst und Design Cluj-Napoca, Rumänien. Derzeit promoviert sie an der Akademie der bildenden Künste Wien zum Thema postsowjetische Subjektivität. In ihre Arbeit beschäftige sie sich mit Prozessen des Seins, die sich nicht nur auf das Terrain des Körpers beschränken, sondern sich auf Objekte und andere nichtmenschliche Wesen ausweiten, betrachtet als eine erweiterte Geographie der Subjektivität.

Ihre Arbeiten wurden u.a. bei FLUCA - Österreichischer Kulturpavillon Plovdiv, Bulgarien (2019), RAUMSCHIFF Linz (2019), VBKÖ Wien (2018) und bei der Vienna Art Week (2018) ausgestellt. Sie erhielt 2017 den Red Carpet Tribute Award und 2018 das Art Start Stipendium der Akademie der bildenden Künste. Neben ihrer künstlerischen Praxis hat Alexandra bisher auch eine Reihe von Ausstellungen kuratiert, zuletzt "cooking the city - Künstler als Contingency Architects" in der Traktorfabrik (2018) und "#viennaintransylvania" im Rahmen von Cluj Napoca Europeean Youth Cutural Capital (2015).

www.alexandratatar.at

Projekt

Für die Residence werde ich an dem Thema Coapparition arbeiten, indem ich eine Familiengeschichte der "temporären" Migration nach Deutschland wieder aufleben lasse. Mein Großvater war Ende der 70er Jahre 'Gastarbeiter' in der BRD, vermittelt an ein deutsches Unternehmen über das kommunistische Staatsunternehmen in Rumänien, wo er angestellt war. Er war Schweißer und arbeitete in der BRD hauptsächlich am Ausbau der Gasleitungsinfrastruktur. Seine persönliche Geschichte wurde durch die ostpolitischen Ambitionen Westdeutschlands ermöglicht, die sich mit denen Rumäniens trafen, woraus ein Wirtschaftsvertrag zwischen den beiden Ländern entstand.

notes and drawings from my notebook
notes and drawings from my notebook

In meinen derzeitigen Arbeiten beschäftige ich mich mit der Analyse von Systemen und Zusammenhängen im geographischen Raum, den wir Mittel- und Osteuropa nennen, und den interimperialen Beziehungen, die diese Räume historisch geprägt haben. Ein kritischer Blick aus gesellschaftspolitischer Sicht auf die Dynamik zwischen Peripherie und Zentrum und die genaue „Positionierung“ zu diesem Thema ist ein prägender Punkt in meiner aktuellen Arbeitsentwicklung.

Ein Porträt eines sozialistischen, gut arbeitenden Mannes und seiner Abenteuer im Westen. Die spezifische soziale Klassenstruktur der Migration: Der Pass wurde bei der Ankunft abgenommen! Die Freiheit wurde anderswo erlebt. Der Körper. Seine Geschichten vom Ruhm und den Dingen, die ungesagt geblieben sind. Die Bruchstellen im Filmmaterial. Makro Ebene <> Mikro Ebene: der inoffizielle Teppichhandel, den mein Großvater gemacht hat, genauso wichtig war... kalten Krieg wirtschaft dynamik. Humor als Überlebensmechanismus, aber eine darunterliegende Tristesse kommt zum Vorschein. Die Landschaften. Begraben in der Landschaft. Eine unwichtige Geschichte. Marginal. Die Firma, die ich gefragt habe, ob sie noch seine Schweißerlaubnis hat, bewahrt die Akten aus den 70er Jahren nicht mehr auf. Erinnerung: Warum erinnert er sich genau an jedes Detail dieser 3 Jahre und 3 Monate, muss aber in seinem Notizbuch nach den Geburtsdaten seiner beiden Kinder suchen?

Ich werde das Arbeitszimmer bei Thealit als metaphorische Schweißwerkstatt nutzen und dabei an Coapparition aus der Perspektive der Migration denken. Ich werde das vorhandene Videomaterial zusammenstellen. Ich werde die Räume, in denen er gewesen ist, noch einmal besuchen und meine Erfahrungen in das Filmmaterial „einschweißen“. Ich werde an die Erfahrungen der Gastarbeiter während der Pandemie denken. Ich werde recherchieren und schreiben. Wenn ich auf meinen Reisen "gefundenes" Material finde, werde ich es wahrscheinlich bildhauerisch zusammenschweißen. Ich werde den Raum für Diskussionen öffnen und das Ergebnis meiner Arbeit nach und nach präsentieren.